As you may know, Much Ado About Cinema was founded to give a place to underrepresented voices in film and television criticism. We care about sexual, racial, and gender diversity, and our team of young writers and editors reflect that. Most of our team are students, thus have none or limited disposable income.

Much Ado admins, editors and writers do not earn any money or benefits for their work. Since our launch in September 2017, we’ve paid for everything ourselves. Our expenses so far have been the maintenance of the website, movie tickets and film festival expenses (accomodation, flight, food, etc.). We’ve been lucky enough to get press passes for almost all festivals we’ve attended. We are growing rapidly,providing more content and festival coverages all around the world but as we grow, so do our expenses—which is why we need your help.

We opened a Patreon page for you to help us keep doing what we do. Patreon is a membership platform where you can subscribe to creators’ content with your donations.

Your donations will be used for the following

  • The maintenance of the website
  • Festival expenses
  • Movie and cinema-related event tickets
  • Creating new content

Thank you for your support,

Dilara Elbir & Megan Christopher

Much Ado About Cinema Admins




$1+ Tier Denises will get their name on the Patron page of our website and a thank you at the end of podcasts and vlogs.
1. Piroska Hadarics
2. Cecilia Sjölund
3. Lindsay Miller
4. Frankie Quinn
5. Frances
6. Gül Nihal Gümüşay
7. Frankie Eder


$5+ Tier Reeses will get all of the above and an exclusive monthly newsletter of next month’s pieces, festivals, etc.
1. Laila
2. Amrita Padhi
3. Caleb Fox
4. Meera Aldhaheri
5. Isabel Wilson
6. Process Productions/Tyrone Lewis
7. Mette LV


$10+ Tier Duvernays will get all of the above and early access to podcasts, vlogs and similar content.

1. Zach Llano


$15+ Vardas will get all of the above, and a personalised thank you card with themed film suggestions every two months.
1. Zayn Ayub
2. Thilo Baholzer
3.Cameron Kanachki